Getting Pregnant

Getting PregnantIf you’ve decided to have a baby, are you in for a wild ride! You never know how your pregnancy is going to go. But the pregnancy can be a walk in the park compared to getting pregnant. That’s not always as easy as it may seem.

While many folks know about IVF (In Vitro Fertilization) as well as other more main stream options, I’d like to talk about some lesser known methods.

I was raised with natural medicines, and still to this day, I go to a homeopathic Dr. I get the best of both worlds because she is also a regular MD. When natural methods don’t work, she’s willing to also look at western medicine. So far, I’ve only had to use western medicines once. Her natural medicines are amazing.

So when I was trying to get pregnant, I went to her for advice. This is what she told me:

Before having sex, be sure to go to the bathroom.
Have sex, and then DO NOT GET OUT OF BED UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES! Lay there. Place a pillow under your hips, and just lay there. Do not get up. Do not sit up. Just go to sleep. Do not get up until morning. Pee the bed if you have to (her exact words), just don’t get up.

Needless to say, I have a beautiful little baby boy to show for my cross-legged efforts. I almost did pee the bed. In fact, I proved that it is entirely possible to do the “pee-pee dance” laying down. But magically I made it through somehow.

Another thing to keep in mind is that if and when you come off the pill, it will take a bit of time for your body to adjust to the new hormone levels. This can make getting pregnant a bit tricky at first. If it takes 6 months or more of trying, that’s still in the normal range. So don’t get frustrated.

One more thing to try is an ovulation kit. They’re a little costly, but worth it if you end up with a baby. After all, if you don’t have sex on one of the 3 days out of the month that you ovulate, you are not going to get pregnant. You have a 3 day window every month. That’s it. So it would be a smart idea to know exactly which days those are.

A fabulous and indispensible book is Taking Charge of Your Fertility: The Definitive Guide to Natural Birth Control, Pregnancy Achievement, and Reproductive Health (Revised Edition) You can get a used copy at Amazon.com for as cheap at $6.55 + shipping. You just can’t beat that with a stick. I can’t say enough about this book. I learned more about my womanly parts from reading it, than I’ve learned over my entire 34 years of living.

So when do you turn to professional help? I’m no doctor, but I’d turn to an MD for help after about 6-8 months of trying if you’re coming off the pill (or shot, or….), and 4-6 months if you’re not.

So there you have it. Jane’s guide to getting pregnant. Please remember that I am not a Dr. I’m not diagnosing or recommending that my advice replace a Dr.’s advice. Please use common sense. These are just suggestions guys.

Good luck, and have fun trying!

~Jane

Leave a Reply

